UKBouldering.com

Body tension (Read 4981 times)

tbunbury

Body tension
January 21, 2014, 05:32:12 pm
Hey guys I'm relatively new to climbing (2 years) I have terrible body tension and was looking for ways to improve

tomtom

• forum hero
#1 Re: Body tension
January 21, 2014, 05:37:23 pm
Build your core.

Planks (front and side) are a good (and easy) place to start. Also start working overhanging problems making sure you keep your feet on (large hand holds are OK) as this makes your core work - to place and keep your feet on..

shark

• Administrator
  • forum hero
  • insect overlord #1
#2 Re: Body tension
January 21, 2014, 10:30:03 pm
Hey guys I'm relatively new to climbing (2 years) I have terrible body tension and was looking for ways to improve

Hi tbunbury  :wave:

Deadlifts  :worms:
Bouldering on a steep wall on poor footholds (deliberately swinging off and getting your feet back on is something thats been successfully used)
Knee raises hanging from a bar is often recommended   

kelvin

• forum hero
#3 Re: Body tension
January 21, 2014, 10:34:04 pm
Oddly - I found deadhangs with one foot on massively improved my core.

SA Chris

• forum hero
    • http://groups.msn.com/ChrisClix
#4 Re: Body tension
January 23, 2014, 09:45:28 am
I've got a great workout I do on the monkeybars at the local playpark (at night when theres no-one around!) Which is really improving my crap core strength.

rich d

• forum hero
#5 Re: Body tension
January 23, 2014, 10:13:39 am
I've got a great workout I do on the monkeybars at the local playpark (at night when theres no-one around!) Which is really improving my crap core strength.
do you fancy posting up the details of it?

Ti_pin_man

• obsessive maniac
  • sometimes you see things & curse, damnit no gun
#6 Re: Body tension
January 23, 2014, 11:01:13 am
I can recommend these two sessions done one following the other x3 times each with a two min gap between.