UKBouldering.com

Am I ARCing hard enough? (Read 5334 times)

Mi|es

Am I ARCing hard enough?
April 24, 2010, 11:38:45 pm
Basically, I'm fairly new to actually training for climbing and since I recently injured my finger I've been doing lots of high volume, low intensity climbing while it heals.  So far I've done a few sessions where I toprope a relatively easy route (F5 whereas my max would probably be around F6c/7a) at less than vertical (i.e. the opposite of overhanging) for 30 minutes straight with no rest in between laps. 

By the end of the 30 minutes I'm very out of breath and feeling very tired but my forearms are still pretty soft (they're a little firmer than usual but barely).  From what I've read, I should be ARCing at around 30% of my max and should feel a very mild pump but I'm not sure what a mild pump is. 

Does what I've said sound about right?  Thanks in advance  :)

clm

• forum hero
#1 Re: Am I ARCing hard enough?
April 25, 2010, 06:57:52 am
shit. Is that what less than vertical means.

GCW

• forum hero
  • No longer a
#2 Re: Am I ARCing hard enough?
April 25, 2010, 08:10:36 am
Are you saying that you top rope slabs and don't get pumped?
« Last Edit: April 25, 2010, 08:30:56 am by GCW »

Krank

• junky
  • VIVA LA CHAPEL
  • Its meant to be hard
#3 Re: Am I ARCing hard enough?
April 25, 2010, 08:23:22 am
Come on fella's thats not very helpfull now is it. A mild pump is when your pumped but only mildly, hope that helped

GCW

• forum hero
  • No longer a
#4 Re: Am I ARCing hard enough?
April 25, 2010, 08:30:46 am
I was trying to clarify exactly what Mi|es is doing, as he talks about ARC but then the post doesn't correlate.

Thus, I prefer to understand what is being asked prior to giving advice in order to avoid answering the wrong question.

Mi|es

#5 Re: Am I ARCing hard enough?
April 25, 2010, 10:22:12 am
shit. Is that what less than vertical means.

I wasn't sure if that's what less than vertical meant :P