UKBouldering.com

periodisation over 3 months (Read 2283 times)

joeb

• addict
periodisation over 3 months
September 09, 2009, 08:12:07 pm
I have a trip lined up for around christmas, and was wondering how people would train between now and then. Am pretty good at 4 to 6 week turn arounds for sport but struggle to break down my bouldering in the same way. I have a beastmaker and 35 degree board at home and train at least 3 times a week, I climbed my first font 8a in january but have since had our first addition to the family who is now six months. In other words i need to be specific and effective with the time I have, ideas suggestions would be superb  :thumbsup:

Jeff25

• regular
#1 Re: periodisation over 3 months
September 11, 2009, 02:06:21 pm
Hello Joeb,
I would be interested to hear what the well informed on here have to say so hope you get some worthwhile replies.
Im in a similar place, but with sport climber background, and I found periodzation planning worked really well for routes. I now want to do a grit headpoint this winter so looking to adandon the rope and purely work strength and power (where im pathetic) - and im struggling to work out how the periodization works for this and if its as applicable. My current plan is...

- Aiming for peak performance at start of December
- 3 phases between then and now. Strength 5wks, Power 5 wks, Combination, 2 wks.
- Split strength and power between fingers and back.

1. Strength phase
- Fingers. Will be using Beastmaker for finger (currently rock rings) but want an additional finger strength area of exercise (thinking of finger rolls but dont have facilities) - would do 10 move boulder problems if i had a 30degree wall.
- Back/arms. I will be doing weighted pull ups (5 reps).
2. Power phase
- Fingers. Campus laddering, progressing to touches (or whatever theyre called), progressing to double dynos
- Back/arms. Footless bouldering on large ish/ spaced ish holds (if i can get facilities)
3. Combined phase