UKBouldering.com

Improving finger strength and bouldering ability generally (Read 28728 times)

Rocksteady

• forum abuser
  • Crank
  • Hotter than the sun!
Hi!

Long time reader, first time poster  :P

I need more finger strength!

I've been climbing reasonably regularly (mostly indoors) for about 2 years. Having just returned from Kalymnos sport climbing I realised how weak I am compared to nearly everyone else! I can onsight F6b and redpoint F6c+ but I want to get a whole lot better, and I reckon finger strength is one of the main factors that is holding me back - I just can't seem to stick the small holds.

Bouldering is always touted as the best way to improve finger strength (and I find it a good laugh), but I've been doing it at least once a week at the wall for at least 8 months and seem to have totally plateaued at about V3/V4 (although I climb at the Castle in London which has weird UK tech grades - I can sometimes do their 6a's and when I go elsewhere this seems to translate to V3/V4). Some of the problem is likely to be technique (my climbing partners are all worse than me so I don't tend to get 'shown' how to do any problems, nor do I get outside to climb anywhere near as much as I'd like) but I just can't seem to pull on the small holds necessary to get up harder bouldering problems or routes.

My arm/shoulder strength/power is pretty good (I can do 25 chin ups, campus 1-4-7 on the big holds and do 1 one-arm pull up on each arm) so I don't think that's a problem. It's the ability to hold small holds that seems to be letting me down.

Do I just need to stick at it and try problems where the holds are too small for me to use? I have to admit I find this a bit de-motivating. I have access to a fingerboard at the wall but don't know the best routine - I can stick the smallest holds on a Metiolus for about 8 seconds. The small crimps on the Moon board though seem ridiculous!