UKBouldering.com

Lorry Driving Wads (Read 3149 times)

Zods Beard

• forum abuser
Lorry Driving Wads
July 07, 2008, 05:38:57 pm
Due to the bottom dropping out of the driving instructor market, I am seeking new employment. Any of you truckers know if its worth me doing my class C, and what the work situation will be like if I get said licence? Some agencies I've rang have said don't bother, theirs no work, others have said theirs plenty, which leaves me confused. Bear in mind as well I have no experience at this sort of thing, will that count against me? I'm looking at paying about 800-900 for the course. Thanks in advance.

Johnny Brown

• forum hero
#1 Re: Lorry Driving Wads
July 07, 2008, 06:29:10 pm
Bubba's blog might be a place to start

GCW

• forum hero
  • No longer a
#2 Re: Lorry Driving Wads
July 07, 2008, 07:05:08 pm
Due to the bottom dropping out of the driving instructor market

Interesting, especially considering all the adverts to become driving instructors that have appeared recently.  Has this created a glut of instructors?

Zods Beard

• forum abuser
#3 Re: Lorry Driving Wads
July 07, 2008, 07:11:57 pm
The area I live in has reached saturation point, at least where I live. Don't believe a word of the adverts either, I'd have to work 7 days a week, 12 hours a day, and I still probably wouldn't earn the qouted amounts.

Jaspersharpe

• forum hero
  • 1B punter
  • Allez Oleeeve!
#4 Re: Lorry Driving Wads
July 08, 2008, 09:48:16 am
I've never believed the adverts. It's pretty simple maths to work out how much you're going to earn based on how much lessons cost per hour less how much it costs to run the vehicle and other expenses.  :shrug:

Don't know how they get to the estimated earnings figures bandied about. Oh, yes I do, they are lying.

ZB - Personally I'd be considering a career that's longevity is less dependant on oil prices not doubling again in the next year or so. Just a thought.  :-\

Zods Beard

• forum abuser
#5 Re: Lorry Driving Wads