UKBouldering.com

training for bishop (Read 4377 times)

Moo

• forum hero
  • Is an idiot
training for bishop
May 14, 2008, 01:24:48 pm
yo I'm going to be spending october in bishop if all goes well for my finances and the such like. I've seen plenty of videos for the areas obviously and checked out all of the relevant guides I can see it seems to be pretty steep and crimpy as a general theme for the harder problems  anyone wanting to recommend some training tips would be much appreciated (I have a 40 degree board at my disposal)

SA Chris

• forum hero
    • http://groups.msn.com/ChrisClix
#1 Re: training for bishop
May 14, 2008, 02:16:45 pm
Smash some crockery and bolt the bits to your board. Get used to crimping the edges. Start anti-hydral treatment now. And get used to being off the deck, some of the probs get pretty high.

account_inactive

• forum hero
#2 Re: training for bishop
May 14, 2008, 02:23:28 pm
Depends on the area that you to

Happies/Sads - Very much like climbing on a board.  Good holds with powerful climbing.  A bit friable.  Most of the classic lines are only V0/1 and the hard lines are sort of non-lines (a few exceptions like Atari).  Expect to do a lot of mileage in a day

Buttermilks - Amazing lines of all grade.  Some high off the deck but generally get easier after 4 metres.  More technical and interesting climbing. Some painful holds, but still less destroying than grit.  Don't expect to knock out loads of problems every day here rather go for specific classics.  My favorite area by far.

Get strong on crimp and squeezing stuff

If you want any more info send me a PM

Houdini

• forum hero
  • Heil Mary
#3 Re: training for bishop
May 14, 2008, 02:24:10 pm
God bless you Moo, you're setting your sights high.  

But before thinking about becoming a bishop, you should ask yourself some serious questions, such as:  am I suited to a life in the clegy?  And, do I really want to bum youngsters?  

SA Chris

• forum hero
#4 Re: training for bishop