UKBouldering.com

one hand dead hang (Read 4147 times)

rlovatt

• regular
one hand dead hang
May 08, 2008, 09:12:01 am
Whenever i dead hang one handed my body always rotates inwards. Should I let this happen or try and stay as face on as possible.

Also the rung im using is 30mm is this two large or would you suggest hanging weighted doulble handed on a smaller edge. problem is i can hang on a 20mm edge with two fingers on each hand plus 20kg, but not getting any closer to a one hander on this edge.

any thoughts

thanks

Three Nine

• forum hero
#1 Re: one hand dead hang
May 08, 2008, 09:51:40 am
I'm no expert, but I would have said that 30mm is much too big? Could you do 20mm with theraband assistance from the other hand? When I (rarely) do deadhangs, it try and do things like one hand one 20mm rung and other hand mono or two finger on 20mm edge so that most of the weight has to be supported by the full hand. Not sure if this is the best approach, but it can avoid needing weights?

galpinos

• forum hero
#2 Re: one hand dead hang
May 08, 2008, 09:58:05 am

One hand on 20mm edge, other hand on a pulley taking a bit of weight off?

matthew

• menacing presence
#3 Re: one hand dead hang
May 08, 2008, 09:59:29 am
"o things like one hand one 20mm rung and other hand mono or two finger on 20mm edge so that most of the weight has to be supported by the full hand. Not sure if this is the best approach, but it can avoid needing weights?"

That seems to be pretty much what Dave Mac advocates.

I would have thought that you could screw your elbow joint twisting whilst hanging, or that the movement could lead to you popping off the hold and hurting tendons.

a dense loner

• forum hero
#4 Re: one hand dead hang
May 08, 2008, 07:51:30 pm