UKBouldering.com

your camera set up (settings for bouldering) (Read 9185 times)

philo

• forum hero
hello, i dont think this has been done before so:
im a novice with a camera but want to be able to snap standard photos with decentish quality results.
i really want them to look crisp and clear

what camera settings do you find best when it comes to bouldering photos?
i know the best way is to fiddle with it, but im just not getting the photos i want,
the contrast doesnt seem quite right, and sometimes a bit grainy.

ive got a nikon d70 with a 35-70mm lens,
i usually have it set to P, changing only the aperture ( the one on the back)
or if im lazy/in a hurry then i wack it on auto (i know sinner)
but what settings do you lot use as default? changing iso? auto iso? little things

so whats your set up :]

Jim

• Trusted Users
  • forum hero
  • Mostly Injured
  • Pregnant Horse
    • Bouldering POI's for tomtom
When you say its grainy, it could be dust/dirt on the lens/sensor.
Have you got the latest firmware for the d70.
On my D50 It tends to overexpose everything so I have contrast set on -0.7

unclesomebody

• forum hero
  • 1-5-NEIN!
  • more business, less party.
Forgive my ignorance, but I don't own a digital camera... However, if you are setting it to aperture priority mode and then presumably choosing the lowest possible aperture to allow yourself the fastest shutter speed, then the camera is possibly changing the iso up towards 1600 (or whatever yours goes to). If it is doing that, you are inevitably going to get far more noise than if you were shooting at iso 100 (if your camera goes down to that). I would review the exif data to see if you can check exactly what settings are used for what photos and then go from there.