UKBouldering.com

New Climbing Art Online Now! (Read 3360 times)

sugamonkey

• Paintings by Shelley Hocknell Zentner
New Climbing Art Online Now!
April 05, 2008, 06:04:49 pm
I have new oil paintings inspired by bouldering in Hueco Tanks, online now at http://www.shelleyhocknell.blogspot.com
and my website: www.shelleyhocknell.com

Buy Originals from $49.99, and prints from $30.00

I'm a British artist, and I now live with my husband in the USA. I made a career in the UK painting rock climbers, and had my own gallery in Wales until 2005. I sold up to travel, went on a climbing/painting road trip through Canada and America, met Taylor and decided to stay. I have a studio in Tahoe, and I sell my art through galleries and other events. Last year I started doing a painting a day, after finding some inspiring artists doing the same thing on the web. I now paint a little oil on panel (almost) every day, and sell it online. I'm selling these paintings at a fraction of the price they would sell for in a gallery, so they're a bargain for collectors, and a fun motivator for me.

Read an article in the British Mountaineering Council (BMC) magazine, Summit http://www.thebmc.co.uk/Feature.aspx?id=2480
And L'Escalade: http://www.escalademag.com/...id=813&Itemid=41

Paul B

• forum hero
#1 Re: New Climbing Art Online Now!
April 05, 2008, 08:07:15 pm
Did you do that painting of Jerry on something that features in Stonelove, it might even be on the back cover, some slopey 7c thing?

sugamonkey

#2 Re: New Climbing Art Online Now!
April 05, 2008, 08:34:17 pm
I might have done something similar..I can't remember..I did hundreds of paintings of climbers over the years, and some of the older ones when I was just starting out were inspired by other people's photos - like a lot of artists. When I got more experienced (and confident) I took my own pictures, and now I work from a combination of sketches and photos.

Houdini

• forum hero
  • Heil Mary
#3 Re: New Climbing Art Online Now!