UKBouldering.com

Back strain/pain (Read 2387 times)

ds

Back strain/pain
December 27, 2007, 07:33:40 pm
Hi all,

noob here.  Was out bouldering today and got such a cramp type pain in my back, have felt it before on the morning after a particularly strenuous session but ive been on my arse for the past few days eating and watching telly.  Anyone had similar?  Still quite sore at the minute :(

Thanks for any help
ds

Dr T

• forum hero
#1 Re: Back strain/pain
December 27, 2007, 07:54:21 pm
is the cramp running down into a leg?
does it sometimes escalate into a shot of pain?

Hopefully not but if it does then you may have slipped a disc, if so you certainly need physio

It's worth being careful anyway and getting a good physio to have a check, I had lower back and leg "cramp" that was misdiagnosed by 2 doc's and a chiropractor and eventually the disc herniated...

if you're sheffield based then there's a free diagnosis clinic at the works every week or so I think...

hope it all clears up and I'm just being overly pessimistic...

ds

#2 Re: Back strain/pain
December 27, 2007, 08:09:25 pm
Def doesnt go down into leg, was only lower to mid back, did escalate into a shot of pain sometimes.  Went for a dander when it got bad and the movement seemed to loosen it up, bouldered for a wee while after the walk and the pain was there just less than before.

Thanks for the quick reply and for the info on the works, im based in belfast, northern ireland though :(

Off now will be back in few hours
ds 

ds

#3 Re: Back strain/pain
December 27, 2007, 11:59:43 pm
Just back from 'I am legend' <- excellent movie, definitely recommend it.

Pain still there, not as sharp as 1st (pre walkabout pain) just a sort of dull pain.  Got a tightness in the chest tonight there, hoping its not related and guessing its there from doing good bit overhanging stuff earlier today...

ds

Jaspersharpe

• forum hero
  • 1B punter
  • Allez Oleeeve!
#4 Re: Back strain/pain