UKBouldering.com

Hit a motivation and grade plateau (Read 4389 times)

mctrials23

• obsessive maniac
Hit a motivation and grade plateau
December 13, 2007, 01:17:46 am
Right, a few things to get sorted first that might help direct peoples advice:

• I have been climbing for a little over 2 years
  • I am 20
  • I climb at the Norwich sportspark wall 4 times a week on average
  • Im in good physical condition

Now thats over we can get onto more important matters. The wall I climb at isnt very good, there is no two ways about it. The choice of walls to climb on is limited to two. A vertical one and a bouldering cave that goes from vertical for about 4 foot, then about 2 foot of 30 degree overhanging, 2 foot vertical and then about 5 foot of 70-80 degree and finally a foot or so of vertical again. The whole wall is featured and all routes are set with them in mind for feet.

The problem im having is that im stuck around the font 7a grade. It seems to be my stamina on boulder problems that let me down. I can do most of the moves but after I have linked a few I tend to get  pumped and fall. I have been to a few walls in london, namely mile end and the castle and find that I dont last long on the hard problems due to lack of stamina and getting pumped too quickly.

I find it hard to train stamina on the wall because the cave is either vertical or really overhung. There is no constant 45 degree angle or anything. The moves we tend to do are on shit holds and are big moves. The climbs tend to be a crux surrounded by easier climbing.

I have a moon fingerboard at home to train on which I use when I can but its obviously not the best idea to use it too much. I can hang the smallest crimpers for about 6-7 sec, the 3 finger pockets I can hang for about 25 sec  and the slopers for about 10 sec.