UKBouldering.com

Will eating protein based foods after training help (Read 28869 times)

dave k

• obsessive maniac
With recovery or just make me fat?

Assuming I have had a meal at 5pm and get home from training at 9-10pm. Trying to increase from 3 to 4/5 sessions a week. With two days in a row mid week and 2 days outside at the weekend.

Anyone have a post session snack that helps?

tommytwotone

• forum hero
  • Southern jessie turned Almscliff devotee
I'm not an expert in SCIENCE by any stretch of the imagination, but I've just invested in a tub of this:

http://www.maximuscle.com/recovermax

I hope it works - I gather that these sort of things taste pretty rank...

galpinos

• forum hero

I started using this: http://www.scienceinsport.com/rego.htm after wall sessions as it's a long drive home, and felt all the better for it the morning after.

(I'm quite willing to conceed it might just be the placebo effect but for the 3 quid a week it cost me I'm not bothered if it makes me feel like a champion.)

mctrials23

• obsessive maniac
I found that when i took either a protein shake or something high in protein and carbs strait after a session it helped my recovery period. Gives your muscles the fuel they need to repair strait away rather than starving them for a few hours.

chappers

• forum hero
i deffo advocate the use of a protein based recovery drink. and it is important to get it down you within about 20 mins of stopping. it will speed your recovery. esp if you want to climb two days in a row.

dave

advocate the consumption of approx 450 ml of malted barley supplement after a training session. best accompanied with a sachet of corn-based scampi powersnacks.

cofe

• forum hero
i have a glass of milk.

chappers

• forum hero
i deffo advocate the use of a protein based recovery drink. and it is important to get it down you within about 20 mins of stopping. it will speed your recovery. esp if you want to climb two days in a row.