UKBouldering.com

Why Rich Heap is a succesful cameraman and I am not (Read 3282 times)

dobbin

• Global Moderator
  • forum hero
  • Buoux 7a
I got my new camera on Friday. Its very good and I am very pleased with it (this is leading somewhere I promise), the main justification for its purchase was the ability to record movie footage at 30 frames a second and that with my old camera I was limited to 15 seconds max record length. Armed with this (and the manual) I attempted to film myself on the Kudos wall at Rubbercon. The vids of kudos the hard way and the press are ok (the press one starts too late) but the one of me on the traverse of the wall is crap. Its amusing in that I climb almost completely out of shot with the exception of my arse that remains in throughout. Nice.

I have sent them to Bubba for his superior treatment, as I am also a flash novice. Anyway, watch them and marvel at how crap I am at filming stuff. They're all in Flash 6 format, so you should be ok.

- 1.8m
-4.3m

dave

Were these taken with a stills camera then, or DV?

On my mates DV camera (we are curently fucking about with it, should get some vids worthy of putting on here soon) we got some footage of you doing kudos hard way which is OK (you got more lock than a Yale factory) and maybe something else i can't remember.

dobbin

• Global Moderator
  • forum hero
  • Buoux 7a
With one of these mate :

Which is a stills camera but that does really high frame rate, (30fps) at VGA resolution - 640x480. Purchased on eBay for a mere £389. I think I need to think about where I'm gonna end up before positioning the camera.

Be cool to get more media clips up here - that 'what do you want from a bouldering site' thread seemed to point out that people like vids...

dave

I would say make the movies a bit smaller - at that size they look really blocky, i think its a good trade off, maybe half the size but a much more watchable movie.