UKBouldering.com

Pyschological issues (trad) (Read 23819 times)

cider nut

• addict
  • Monkeying around
Pyschological issues (trad)
April 30, 2007, 10:26:35 am
I feel really inadequate with my climbing at the moment.  Last June I was pushing HVS but recently I occasionally find myself struggling up Severe's even though I never had a problem with them before, or getting 'the fear' when seconding something as if I'm a beginner again.  My climbing is really inconsistent and unpredictable which is very offputting - If I can struggle on Severe's some days, and feel fine on much harder stuff on others, how can I know what to climb next time I go out?  The other weekend I went to the Llanberis slate quarries and climbed really well, onsighting an HVS and all but 3 metres of a high in the grade E1 5b, and I felt really brave, but it didn't last.  This weekend mostly went well, but last Wednesday I felt very scared on a steep Severe crack line even though my gear was good.  I also did some fun and satisfying bouldering in font at easter, including on slabs which don't suit me, but I got nervous seconding a slab at Helsby.

I know I'm technically capable, and I know it's not related to smaller external factors like not having eaten enough that day or something or I would have had these problems in previous years, so I'd say it's purely psychological.  But I can't pin it down more specifically than that.  Does anybody have any thoughts?  Firstly about what my problem is, and secondly about how to fix it?

I'm dubious about what people will be able to say to help when they don't know me or my climbing, but I remain hopeful!

To give a bit of background: