UKBouldering.com

Dorset Bouldering (Read 9620 times)

Lord Rothermere

Dorset Bouldering
June 17, 2003, 04:59:04 pm
Does anyone know of any good spots for bouldering in South Dorset (Poole, Swanage, Winspit area).

More importantly, does anyone have any topos of the same area?  There's some information in Dorset Rockfax, but not much.

Thanks, in advance.

LR

Bubba

• Global Moderator
  • forum hero
#1 Dorset Bouldering
June 17, 2003, 05:36:11 pm
I'd start with javu and big pebbles for info....

Not sure about topos for the areas you're thinking of, but I'd mail the above sites for help as they're the locals.

Lord Rothermere

#2 Dorset Bouldering
June 17, 2003, 07:00:07 pm
Thanks for the info.

I used Javu on a recent trip down to Dartmoor for my first granite problems.  I now have no skin on my forearms :)

I'm a real newbie to the sport and am very much enjoying the sports climbing around Swanage, but I'm in the process of dropping about a stone and a half because my bodyweight to height is giving me problems stamina-wise.  I've accordinly been getting more personal achievement from bouldering whilst I slim down because the short, pumpy nature of the problems suits my current physique better than long climbs.

LR

Mr K

#3 Dorset Bouldering
June 17, 2003, 08:19:12 pm
Unfortunately Javu, although good is about Devon, Big pebbles is about Cornwall and Devon, however Dorset-climbing.net is actually about DORSET and people a bit more local to the area!...