UKBouldering.com

New Churnet Oddities. (Read 56807 times)

rainbow

• menacing presence
New Churnet Oddities.
February 01, 2007, 07:17:22 pm
I’ve been pulling down in the valley for the last 7/8 years, If I’m honest Ive got oppsessed by the place. In Dec just gone, finally nailed one of my projects “The awakening” which I’m embarrassed to say has taken me 3 years of effort. Done some other quality lines over the years so thought It was about time I knocked up a few topo’s and descriptions as most of them are well off the beaten track. All are done by me unless credited.

Conditions since xmas have been superb, unfortunately the higher temps of this week have meant all the valley is dripping in condensation.

Below is The Chained Block

Situated in the hillside directly opposite gentleman’s, you can just see the block from the path at this time of year. Approach from the right hand side of the block (With all my failures on the line there is now a faint track).

Lean Green etc is slow to dry out.

1 Yellow The Chained Oak Traverse F6c June 06 The main break to the pocket and then to the sharp pocket on arête.
2 Pink Superstring F 6b+   Sit Start on arête go left to get the big flat edge then blast up to pocket then reach the            boss.
3 Red The Awakening F7bish. Dec 06 Same start but gain the chunky crimp and head right, condition depended.
4 Blue The Revival f7a + ish.   Dec 06 Same start but rock for the high pocket.
5 Green Lean, Green, Bean Machine F6c   May 05 FA Dave Mawer.
A brilliant dyno sit start followed by a traditional rock over finish.

The link should be The Awakening movie.
http://s123.photobucket.com/albums/o285/brooksism/Vids/?action=view&current=MOV06872.flv?t=1170355850

Pics Of The Awakening.

Pics of Lean, Green, Bean Machine

Below is the Breathe Block