UKBouldering.com

Camper Van knowledge (Read 409886 times)

highrepute

• forum hero
  • Blah
#875 Re: Camper Van knowledge
April 22, 2014, 12:48:20 pm
I caved in. After a few months of checking the classifieds every night, I've bought a Caddy. Having spent god knows how many hours researching various 'how to' things on the internet, I've hit a brick wall with some of them and admitted defeat so I'm hoping for some wise and worldly knowledge for you clever lot.

PaulB: Having looked though your flickr build gallery, I was wondering if you made your own ply panels? I can only find ply lining kits for full sides etc. as opposed to the minimal ones that yours had.

Wiring additional LEDs/power into the back. Is this something that a total novice could do? I've found a few forum threads and understand the principle, but don't think I'd be confident enough to know what to buy/how to do it without an idiot proof step by step guide. Any suggestions on where to look, or should I just get a real man to do it for me?

Carpeting: I can't decide whether to do spend a whole weekend doing it myself and doing an 'OK' job, or just pay someone to do it and know that it'll be done properly. Any thoughts from people who've done it themselves?

Ta! Simon.

Have you seen in mine and ellie's van simon, there's pics on fb somewhere? We did the carpeting ourselves and I think it looks pretty good. So doubt you'd struggle.

Ply - if you've got templates then your fine.

Electrics - We haven't done this yet but have been intending to. let us know how you get on?

north_country_boy

• junky
#876 Re: Camper Van knowledge
April 22, 2014, 01:36:54 pm
As Paul_B said, I did have a Caddy (2005, 1.9tdi) until recently but have sold it on to another happy climber.

It averaged approx. 50-55mpg over the time I had it (3years/45k).