UKBouldering.com

4th finger tendon loading on hangboard (Read 7676 times)

route149

• addict
  • 'Let's see how Ben does it...'
4th finger tendon loading on hangboard
July 20, 2006, 02:43:34 pm
newish to fingerboard workouts whyoh why does working the 4th and 5th finger pair together appear to load the 4th finger more than the fifth?

I'm comparing the perceived load with how it feels when I work the much stronger 3rd/4th pair together.

It seems unlikely, but the 4th finger seems to tolerate loading less than the fifth.  is this possible and how do you explain it?

:-\

no karma deficit for me, please.  I'm new to these parts and hey, good karma's in short supply here, even though I shared a karma-enriched organic chocolate bar, lightly chilled, around the office today.

« Last Edit: July 21, 2006, 11:06:00 pm by route149 »

tommytwotone

• forum hero
  • Southern jessie turned Almscliff devotee
yo 149 i can only concur - I've been pulling my wedding ring finger consistenly for last couple of months, especially on particularly crimpy shizznit at the wall, and mostly traverses. Think I may have opened up some wack sort of weakness now, explainable purely by the length of finger compared to the pinky I guess?

Anything to be gained by strapping the two together? I don't know.

Anyone got any SCIENCE to back this shit up?

Johnny Brown

• forum hero
I do know the commonest climbing finger injury is tearing the A2 pulley in the ring finger. I've done both of mine, luckily it's bark is worse than its bite. My advice is don't train, and don't crimp.

Houdini

• forum hero
  • Heil Mary
It sounds like you are not strong enough for concerted fingerboard sessions.  As your attourney I would advice much rest, then strengthen your fingers in another way than putting all of your weight on the end of them.  When you've done that, maybe return to your fingerboard.  Finger strength is everything, just be patient developing it.  You have years.

route149

• addict