UKBouldering.com

Lakes Trip (Read 5675 times)

dom

• addict
Lakes Trip
October 19, 2004, 03:43:46 pm
I'm planning on going to the Lake District to do some bouldering for a few days soon, i checked out the lakesbloc and from the guides and photos, i reckon St Bees and Bowderstone look like the places to go.  I'm only climbing up to font 7a at the moment though, will i have enough here to go at, (its my first time in the lakes) or would i be better off somewhere else.  Also any recomendations on classic problems i should try?

dave

#1 Lakes Trip
October 19, 2004, 03:44:58 pm
st bees and bowderstone are all good. not thousands of problems so just try everything!

Fingers of a Martyr

• forum hero
#2 Lakes Trip
October 19, 2004, 03:47:58 pm
personally i'd wudn't bother with the bowderstone. despite the new topo makin it look great it ain't. not unless u climb v7/8 or higher really. i'd go to carrock fell or the gouther crag boulders instead as well as st bees.

dom

• addict
#3 Lakes Trip
October 19, 2004, 04:01:48 pm
Nice, that vid is getting me psyced for the trip.  Found this photo as well, looks amaizing, anyone know the name and grade of the problem.
Its the third one down on this page http://www.ukbouldering.com/board/viewtopic.php?t=2421
i havn't figure out how to copy and paste photos on to here yet.

dave

#4 Lakes Trip
October 19, 2004, 04:05:00 pm
this is hueco crack:

think its given V7. on that day we were srating sitting directly, slapping toa  sloper/pinch, getting a left foot heeltowbar above the head on the left, virtually take both hands off then continue where fbsf is in that photo. the top crack is not that easy either! great problem, perfect landing.

this is also it:

Nigel

• forum hero
#5 Lakes Trip
October 19, 2004, 04:19:08 pm
...wudn't bother with the bowderstone. despite the new topo makin it look great it ain't