Aims for 2019 (Read 33214 times)

shark

• Administrator
  • forum hero
  • insect overlord #1
#125 Re: Aims for 2019
December 27, 2019, 03:25:53 pm
Abide by the rules: :rtfm:
1.   Take at least 3 complete rests of 7-10 days during the year and every 3-4 weeks have an easier (non-training) week 
2.   Minimum of 2 deadhang sessions a week except on planned easy weeks, rest weeks and trips 
3.   Only commit to routes and problems that I genuinely think I can do within 4 sessions in a season (Oak excepted). 2 extra bonus days allowable if close on the send/redpoint
4.   If I haven’t got past the horn on the Oak from the ground within 5 sessions then sack it off for the season

Pretty much stuck to the rules.

Do a one arm pull-up again

Just because

Felt tweaky when I started training for this so backed off. Bit of a daft aim anyway

The Oak

Prepare well mentally and physically over the next two months ready for when it next comes into condition

Prepped well enough but hampered by injury, seepage and illness in spring then the route getting wet as sending temps arrived in autumn

Find a part time job I’m psyched for

Possibly a role in the not-for-profit sector generating commercial revenue. Open to offers! Alternatively come to terms with semi retirement.

Had a few meetings and interviews but nothing worked out. Offered a job back in exec recruitment but thought better of it

Keep dancing...

Yes. Stuck at this. The last of two couples still going to the class

Steve R

• forum abuser
#126 Re: Aims for 2019
December 27, 2019, 07:25:14 pm
Someone got in my head that climbing is bullshit and grades and experience does or doesn’t matter (I forget which) and that’s all very well but if you lose your grade chasing performance metric mojo and don’t replace it with something then what are you left with? Not being jazzed for climbing that’s what.

Maybe I’ll get back into it next year but it seems a mountain to climb just to get back where I was hanging out before.