UKBouldering.com

Yorks lime progression for the unfit and afraid (7b-7c) (Read 10944 times)

Will Hunt

• forum hero
  • Superworm is super-long
    • Unknown Stones
I'm a complete sport climbing noob (don't worry, I'm not going to start an @sportclimbingnoobs Instagram account). I've been enjoying some lime lately and have mainly been doing the short, bouldery challenges (stuff like A Power of Good, Muted Mackerel, WYSIWYG, Spent Youth). I feel like I've learned lots already about tactics - I used to just gung ho up things on onsight attempts, get knackered, and not be fussed about working out sequences and then redpointing. I've not got stuck into a proper siege yet, and to be honest, I'm not sure I want to. I'd rather just gain a bit of extra fitness by ticking my way through the vast Pantheon of sport routes that I've yet to do.

My problem is that I am still quite a big softie when it comes to falling off, so spicy things like Frankie and Biological Need are very much off the list. I am also lacking in fitness though this is something I would like to gain more of - so the pumpier 7cs are probably a write off for now but could be good for later.

Can anyone recommend good routes at a variety of crags, not just M&K though they are by no means off limits, for me to enjoy? Suggestions at 7b+ particularly welcome since I think most of the ones already on the list are viewed as being quite stiff.

So far I'm thinking:

Far Country, 7b
Hoodoo Guru, 7b
Cruisin' for a Bruisin', 7b
Trowgerbirge Wall, 7b (what's this like?)
Haslam, 7b+ (I think 7b if you utilise the obvious rest just to the left?)
Space Race, 7b+ (no idea what this is like but it's the right grade and I love the name. What's it like?)
50 for 5, 7b+
Illywhacker, 7b+
Petulant Frenzy, 7b+/c (what's this like? Cruxy? Sustained?)
Comedy 7c (I've tried this before and should be able to do it if I can recover reasonably well in the mid-height "rest")

God, I can't wait to try these routes  :bounce: