UKBouldering.com

Training plan for a beginning boulderer. (Read 3763 times)

Bobtheboulderer

Training plan for a beginning boulderer.
June 24, 2013, 10:35:22 pm
Hi guys! This is my first post.

I'm a 20 year old male, and I've been bouldering for 4 months now. I've seen massive progress the first three months, but lately I haven't really had any breakthroughs yet. I don't have a training plan yet, but because I feel that I'm plateauring, I'd like to train.

When I started I could barely climb a 3 on fontainebleau grading. I now climb 5a-5c (V1, 5.8/5.10?). I've been stuck at this grade for about a month now, I see my progress is not linear. I climb every other day, 3.5 days a week.

I'm really enthusiastic about it and want to become a really great boulderer.

Do you have any tips for a training plan? I saw your resources list but had difficulty finding a great website with a clear plan.

I bet you get this question a lot, so I will apologize in advance. Any tips will be greatly appreciated,

Cheers from Holland!   

Sasquatch

• forum hero
  • www.akclimber.com
    • AkClimber
First of all, there is no fixed training plan like you would find for a "from couch to 5k" running plan.

In my opinion, your first step should be to figure out what you're currently doing.  How much volume/effort are you actually doing?  Every other day is great, but that could be 30min or 3 hrs.  It could be 30-40 moves or 300-400 moves.  Huge differences.  One of the most important thing for most new climbers to do is get enough "easy" volume under your belt. 

Once you've figured that out and have started getting enough volume, then you will need to identify weaknesses, and work on making them strengths.  Things to look for would be your footwork, balance, hold types, wall angles, etc. 

Good Luck!

SA Chris

• forum hero
    • http://groups.msn.com/ChrisClix
And don't fixate on grades. Yet.

psychomansam

• forum hero
from Holland? Have you been outside yet?