UKBouldering.com

Pictures in caves and possibly multi flash shizzle.. (Read 12216 times)

tomtom

• forum hero
Hello,
I've been invited on a field trip in late Jan - looking for caves in S.Tunisia... Which is really cool - and one thing I've been asked is to take piccies.. I've a ok dslr, (d5000) stock lens and Sigma 10-20mm (figure that might be handy) but have no idea about lighting them. Caverns and big spaces will be a feature I'm told.. My first thought was some sort of multi flash thingy, but I have no experience of this.. If this is viable, what kit would I need, is it pricey (will eBay help), is there any kit I can borrow? I can't carry loads of stuff (air baggage etc..) and any thoughts on how to do it etc...?
Maybe its best posed on uk caving.com.. But thought I'd ask here first....
T

Durbs

• forum hero
Depending on the style of photo, instead of multi/single-flash trickery, you could always just use a torch to "paint" the rock during a long exposure shot.

Flash would be more useful if you're shooting out of a cave mouth; i.e. from inside the cave out into the brighter outside.

Bubba

• Global Moderator
  • forum hero

dave

Either a ton of flashes if you want to get shots instantaneaously (well, given the time taken to set up each flash), or go with one flash and a decent tripod - set the camera on the tripod, then manually pop the flash to "paint" where you want the light. Will end up with shorter exposure times than doing it by torch as the flash has more power. After a few practice goes you will probably get the feel of it. The Sigma 10-20 should be ideal for caves.

One thing to watch for is that if firing the flash around at the same power setting, that anything drastically nearer the flash compared to the main subject will look a lot lighter because of inverse square law etc.

tomtom

• forum hero
Good words Dave... flash popped at low power in loads of spots to paint. Like it. Reccomendations for a half decent (but not £££) flash?