UKBouldering.com

Breaking through a plateau (Read 7264 times)

Cretin

• regular
Breaking through a plateau
October 03, 2012, 09:04:01 pm
Hi all- I have come to seek your infinite wisdom on a training matter.

I've been climbing for about 18 months, mostly indoors. I seem to have been at a massive plateau in my performance for the past 3/4 months. I usually climb 2-3 times a week

The highest grade I've climbed outdoors is a v5, I think. I generally climb whatever various indoor walls deem to be v3 fairly easily, and then get shut down on anything v4 and above. I transferred to climbing from the gym so I have a reasonable (I think) amount of muscular strength.  I've tried just working on my technique on routes i can do, and I've tried getting stronger by climbing a lot (4-5x a week) - all to no avail.

Does anybody have any tips for me as It's quite frustrating now! I'm thinking fingerboard?

Cheers!

shark

• Administrator
  • forum hero
  • insect overlord #1
#1 Re: Breaking through a plateau
October 03, 2012, 09:18:12 pm
I just think you are being a bit impatient. Getting to V5 in just over a year is good going.

If you keep at it climbing 4/5 times a week the gains will come. Just remember to to take an easier week once a month and even take a week off entirely every three months. Given your gym background you should know about cycles/periodisation. The same applies to climbing.

It is probable that your finger strength needs to catch up with the rest of your strengths too so some fingerboarding is a good idea but keep the volume of actual climbing/bouldering up.   

Cretin

• regular
#2 Re: Breaking through a plateau
October 03, 2012, 09:25:16 pm
Thanks for the advice Shark. I am an impatient person so I guess that's likely enough, lol.  I usually do make sure I cycle my climbing and get a decent amount of rest once in a while- I'm just keen to up the ante as quick as possible!

iwasmexican

• obsessive maniac
#3 Re: Breaking through a plateau