UKBouldering.com

Southern sandstone bouldering... Any good? (Read 7983 times)

nicboarder

What's the crack with southern sandstone bouldering then? Have heard mixed reviews, some say it is good, some saying it is not worth the drive. I am new to the south having been living in north west the last 4 years and don't know any climbers down here, or where to go bouldering outside. I am aware that I should probably have stayed in Lancashire, but work means a move! I am living in Winchester, so I should think it's about a couple of hours drive. Just got hold of the guidebook and it looks good. But I suppose I need to get a feel for the place, find out what the locals are like (will they be nice to a northern girl who is not a very good climber, or will they send me packing back up north), and see if I can hook up with folks for pad shifting and spotting etc.

Any info and personal experiences would be most welcome. Getting myself prepped with knowledge in case the summer should ever arrive.

Baldy

• obsessive maniac
  • Low Bawler
    • CBclimbing
A lot of people slag off the southern choss,
I find it to be an aquired taste.

Some of it is utter rubbish and you'll find yourself wondering why you ever bothered turning up, but some of the other venues are actually alright.

Bowles is nice enough (but charge you a bit to get in - may be worth it since the venue is often quite nice with a decent scene)
Stone Farm is probably closest to you, fairly easy problems for the most part, but the rock is a little looser there.
Eridge green is alright, little bit of a longer walk in (5-15 minutes compared to 1-2 at bowles) quite a few harder problems V6-9.
Harrisons I found to be quite forgettable, but I went there for an afternoon with a school trip quite a long time ago.

Those are the crags I have been to (I only boulder - routes wise, you might be better asking someone else)