UKBouldering.com

Aching fingers after extended session (Read 4816 times)

gibbermonkey

Aching fingers after extended session
November 10, 2011, 08:32:15 am
I've been bouldering regularly for a couple of months and I'm really enjoying it. I've made some steady progress and time at the wall is always a highlight, but a recent session has left me with somewhat tender tendons. I spent three hours with a few friends at an indoor wall,  a lot of which was spent on some fairly steep problems. The result is that I have pain in the tendons of my ring, index and middle fingers of both hands. The left is slightly worse than the right. I've been resting them, taking ibuprofen, contrast bathing and working them with closed cell foam stress balls to get the blood flowing. I'm wondering if there's anything more I can do to speed up recovery as I'm going out of my mind waiting to get back climbing.

Thanks guys.

shark

• Administrator
  • forum hero
  • insect overlord #1
#1 Re: Aching fingers after extended session
November 10, 2011, 08:45:25 am
At the risk of stating the obvious it sounds like you should lay-off the steep fingery stuff for a few weeks rather than look at ways to speed recovery and re-direct your energies on less finger intensive stuff i.e. easy or slabby climbing or circuits - maybe use it as an opportunity to train core, pull-ups, weights and flexibility

Oldmanmatt

• forum hero
  • At this rate, I probably won’t last the week.
  • Largely broken. Obsolete spares and scrap only.
    • The Boulder Bunker climbing centre
#2 Aching fingers after extended session
November 10, 2011, 09:12:02 am
As the man eater said...