UKBouldering.com

Progressing past the low 7's (Read 7067 times)

cha1n

• forum hero
Progressing past the low 7's
October 16, 2011, 11:41:50 pm
Hi

I wanted some accounts of how people progressed past the low 7's. Please can you let me know (roughly if that's the only time you have) what sort of training (if any) you had to do specifically to achieve this (e.g. anything additional to 'just climbing').

=================================

If you have more time (bored/helpful) please read my background below:

I Have been bouldering for 2 years and am climbing at F7A+ and fr7b. Technique has been a big thing for me and I knew about most of the climbing techniques before I even climbed for the first time. I would say that my technique is my strong point.

I'm weak, I can do less than ten pull-ups last time I tried, can't really dead edges for very long, can't campus. Deadhanging hurts my shoulders (climbing doesn't) and generally bores me. I live 15 minutes away from TCA bristol and have a membership all through the autum/winter.

What I want to hear is that I can just keep on trying harder and harder boulder problems and I will naturally get stronger and won't have to train properly for a long time - is this true?

Would something like fingerboarding open up alot more to me in terms of improvement over just bouldering alone?

Duma

• forum hero
#1 Re: Progressing past the low 7's
October 17, 2011, 12:09:59 am
What I want to hear is that I can just keep on trying harder and harder boulder problems and I will naturally get stronger and won't have to train properly for a long time - is this true?
yes, but it won't be the quickest way to acheive this.
Would something like fingerboarding open up alot more to me in terms of improvement over just bouldering alone?
yes, but be careful of injury.