UKBouldering.com

Camcorder recommendations (Read 2843 times)

mr__j5

• menacing presence
  • Peter J
  • tall, bendy and weak
Camcorder recommendations
August 09, 2011, 02:03:50 pm
I am looking to get a camcorder that I can just stick on a tripod and record a session of bouldering.

I don't want to spend lots (about £200 - £250) but there are a few things that I do want. I'm basically a tech geek, but won't use the camera that much to warrant spending too much on it.

I want 720p.
I don't want to record to MOV files.
Preferably the screen spins around to face forwards too, for when the tripod ends up sitting somewhere hard to get behind.

I've been looking at:
Samsung H300   - very mixed reviews.
Panasonic SD40  - looks good, buy only records 1080p, which seems pointless overkill.

Any suggestions, or is this price point a waste of time and you might as well either buy a Flip or move up to £300 ?

Paul B

• forum hero
#1 Re: Camcorder recommendations
August 09, 2011, 02:25:22 pm
Sanyo Xacti (Jim posted some test footage up a while ago now)?

I can't really see the point of going for a full camcorder as all you're gaining is bulk. With the prevelance of HD DSLRs these days I can't see residuals being too high on high end mini-dv cameras such as the Canon HV series (you can get these with SD slots) but to be honest if its going to end up permanently on a tripod I really can't see the point of going beyond the Xacti/Flip level.

On the other hand (the screens don't rotate), the Canon S95 and Panasonic LX5's both record HD footage as do a lot of other small compacts, the bonus being they're pretty handy little compacts too.

SA Chris

• forum hero
    • http://groups.msn.com/ChrisClix
#2 Re: Camcorder recommendations
August 09, 2011, 02:29:37 pm
Xacti records to 1080 (I think) and MPEG4 as a standard (well mine does anyway), so not really what he wants. Ace wee camera though.

Paul B

• forum hero
#3 Re: Camcorder recommendations
August 09, 2011, 02:36:57 pm