UKBouldering.com

Supplemental training and posture correction (Read 15413 times)

heelhookofglory

• menacing presence
    • SPC
I'm looking to add some supplemental training along side my climbing, thinking fingerboard, dead-hangs and some core work as I've hit a bit of a plateau at Ft7A (still struggling a lot on most 7As too). I've not really 'trained' before, just climbed a lot. Any advice on this? I really seem to struggle on problems which require lock-offs and finger strength. I've been climbing for just under 18 months so I don't want to jump onto campus boards etc., if it may cause tendon problems but I do feel I need to start doing something as well as just climbing...

Then, also adding some exercises to correct muscle and posture imbalances, i.e. shoulders etc. Any advice on this would be appreciated, too.

Of course, my main diet will still be plenty of time on rock as I understand how important that is.

Thanks in advance guys (and gals).

Kingy

• forum hero
Supplement your sessions on rock with say one fingerboard session of no more than 1 hour per week involving pullups on edges and pockets and some pull ups on a bar or jugs until you have really worked your lats. This will provide you with extra finger strength and arm/shoulder power to beef up your rock skils.

I know its probably not what you want to hear but just keep on climbing on rock, making sure you get really worked after every session, don't overdo it mind or that might lead to injury. You will be surprised at results, in 12 months time, I wouldn't be surprised if you've jumped a few grades. Take adequate rest as well, 4 sessions a week is perfect, probably 2 outside, 2 indoors if ur a weekend warrior like me!

Good luck with it

Falling Down

• forum hero
    • bensblogredux
 :agree: