UKBouldering.com

Systematic bouldering: what order to work muscle groups? (Read 3326 times)

douglas

• obsessive maniac
I am going to try some systematic bouldering to address several weaknesses in my ability. My question is, in what order am I best tiring individual muscle groups? I will work fingers (crimp and pinch), lats and obliques.

My thinking is that this kind of knowledge is probably well known among gym aficionados and my guess would be to 'train in a chain' so that neighbouring muscles are tired from the previous exercise and the target muscles are worked. Does this sound correct?

Thanks.

I'd also appreciate any general knowledge about, or personal experience of, systematic bouldering. I've read it was the key to Malc's success. An endorsement enough for me!

Fultonius

• forum hero
  • Was strong but crap, now weaker but better.
    • Photos
I'm no training expert, but I would have thought the reductionist approach to training (i.e. ispolating individual muscle groups) is completely at odds with what you're trying to achieve! You don't need big, or even hugely strong muscles to climb hard. \even if you have a massive deficiency in one area, surely you're better to work on it in a climbing specific way?

What are these perceived weaknesses?

slackline

• forum hero
    • Sheffield Boulder
 :agree: Muscles don't work in isolation, rather in synergy with each other.

A good place to start  :google:

douglas

• obsessive maniac
Thanks for the replies.

even if you have a massive deficiency in one area, surely you're better to work on it in a climbing specific way?

What are these perceived weaknesses?

System training is a climbing specific way to work weaknesses so that's why I've chosen it. My personal weaknesses are generally not being able to pull on or hang the holds when I reach them!

The answer to my original question is still not clear. Should I work grip, pull, grip, pull or grip, grip, pull, pull?

slackline

• forum hero