UKBouldering.com

To ipod up or not? (Read 2398 times)

VMS118

To ipod up or not?
September 20, 2010, 03:59:46 pm
Hey! I'm pretty new to climbing and very new to this forum so if a break any forum etiquette or climbing rules please let me know (nicely mind) Bit of a random one really...Whilst training for the other sports I do, I often listen to my ipod when alone. This helps my motivation ALOT. My question is, if I am at the local gym without my usual crowd just bouldering away - is it considered a big no no to listen to music at a respectable volume whilst bouldering? i.e. I am the only one who can hear it, and if others wanted my attention I'd notice.

Cheers guys and gals

slackline

• forum hero
    • Sheffield Boulder
#1 Re: To ipod up or not?
September 20, 2010, 04:03:02 pm
Some do, some don't.

Its important to be aware of whats behind/underneath you though, even if you're coming off in a controlled manner.

At the same time its important for other wall users to be aware of climbers and not walk directly underneath people climbing.

Headphones can impede both of these, but at the same time deaf people climb too and don't have a problem.

Just get the wall to play some decent music  :P

VMS118

#2 Re: To ipod up or not?
September 20, 2010, 04:07:22 pm
Haha! thanks. No worries about the careful bit, I am always pretty good in being aware of those around me. I would try the request bit, but tbh I think most people would consider my music a bit crap!

slackline

• forum hero
    • Sheffield Boulder
#3 Re: To ipod up or not?
September 20, 2010, 04:11:27 pm
Revise your taste in music?

More importantly, make sure you're enjoying yourself, and get outside on real rock as frequently as possible (it'll do wonders for your motivation).

VMS118

#4 Re: To ipod up or not?
September 20, 2010, 04:30:46 pm
I would, alas I love my music too much. And why does it help so much? I guess you get more "sense of achievement" outdoors?

tomtom

• forum hero