UKBouldering.com

Sharky's blog (Read 5421 times)

shark

• Administrator
  • forum hero
  • insect overlord #1
Sharky's blog
June 19, 2010, 09:02:55 pm
I've just realised that this is as good a place as any to start a blog - so I am (hope that's OK Toby?). If anyone wants to do so as well ... fill your boots.

shark

• Administrator
  • forum hero
  • insect overlord #1
#1 Re: Sharky's blog
June 19, 2010, 09:08:11 pm
Today. Saturday. It was just another day at the Cornice. Ive been walking in and out of Chee Dale from Worm Hill for 25 years . Familiarity doesn’t always breed contempt but a warm home-from-home feeling. It was an early start by Peak standards. Simon Davies had arranged to return some gear  that he’d mistakenly picked up at Worm Hill to Nik Jennings at 9.30am . I was late so didn’t get to meet Nik. I walked down to the Cornice with Pip (my collie) and met Simon there. Compared to the sweatiness of Thursday evening conditions were deliciously  cool. I felt oddly unmotivated but happy to be here.

We warmed up on Clarion Call but Simon had a tweaky elbow. I had a play on the top rope on Poppy Fields to see if I could make the finish more independent. I decided it wasn’t worthwhile as it didn’t climb well but  that a seperate new belay rather than one shared with Clarion Call was the best solution. I then belayed Simon so he could start the intial clean up of Monumental  Armblaster. The crag started to get busier - all familar faces (of varying vagueness) or friends. I was trying K3 (Cos its harder than K2)– Seb’s mega route from the 90s – and an old project of mine that I had put some time in on 10? Years ago. I had another play 5 years ago but split a tip. I've had quite a few visits again this year and had made good progress – but not today. Simon left and I climbed on with JonBoy Fulwood – he nearly did it – twice. Rob Napier looked super-strong on it and Joe Le Sage went on it but I had gone for a walk with Pip.