UKBouldering.com

The Spherical Cow (Read 198248 times)

Stubbs

#100 Re: The Spherical Cow
October 27, 2011, 01:16:20 pm
Great post Stu, although I agree with JB, 16 m a day seems fast! I guess manpower was pretty cheap back then...

Also I reckon looking south from Hadrian's wall would have been a bad idea for a centurion, unless he had a homie watching his back!

grimer

• forum hero
#101 Re: The Spherical Cow
October 27, 2011, 01:30:43 pm
Over the heather the wet wind blows,
I've lice in my tunic and a cold in my nose.

The rain comes pattering out of the sky,
I'm a Wall soldier, I don't know why.

The mist creeps over the hard grey stone,
My girl's in Tungria; I sleep alone.

Aulus goes hanging around her place,
I don't like his manners, I don't like his face.

Piso's a Christian, he worships a fish;
There'd be no kissing if he had his wish.

She gave me a ring but I diced it away;
I want my girl and I want my pay.

When I'm a veteran with only one eye
I shall do nothing but look at the sky.

comPiler

• forum hero
#102 Damn You Evolution!
October 31, 2011, 06:00:27 pm
Damn You Evolution!
31 October 2011, 1:29 pm

No, this isn't some anti-Darwin rant, just an outpouring of frustration about the difficulty of Jerry Moffat's Raven Tor "creation" (ahem).

I've had a hate-hate relationship with this route in the past, largely born out of not being able to do the moves, or in many cases hang the holds. Over the years I've been making creeping progress. Each year I inch a move or two closer - a reminder that I am still getting stronger, if only in certain styles and at a pace that would make a sloth blush.

This year I have returned for a dabble, making good use of the freakishly good October weather. I have reduced the "moves I cannot do" count to one, although the "moves I can barely do" count is still pretty high. Perhaps a winter's training will improve my crimp strength and hip flexibility enough to start red pointing?