UKBouldering.com

Have I f*cked myself up? (Read 1501 times)

gremlin

• stalker
  • Ripped, but still shit!
    • Java shit
Have I f*cked myself up?
March 27, 2010, 12:15:55 pm
Hi Chaps,

Did a tough 3 hour plus climbing session last friday week and since then I seem to have lost all my grip strength. I felt OK at the time but my fingers were sore for a week after, right down to the bones.

Should I keep resting or get back in the saddle?

I'm a relative novice to climbing and this was the toughest session I've done to date. I'm a bit concerned I may have fucked myself up for the foresable future. There's no pain or selling in my fingers or forearrms BTW, just a lack of grip strength.

Cheers.

rginns

• junky
  • Holds innit
    • Strongholds
#1 Re: Have I f*cked myself up?
March 27, 2010, 01:01:20 pm
If you've got no muscular sharp pain then you've probably not damaged anything. It takes a while to build up finger strength and you're still working out your boundaries it sounds like, so you have to be a bit patient. I'd say keep doing what you're doing, don't necessarily have a lay off but maybe climb a little less strenuously before beasting it again. If you develop sharp pain in your fingers that hurts whilst you climb, stop, as you've probably damaged them.

JamesD

• obsessive maniac
  • one ton monkey
#2 Re: Have I f*cked myself up?
March 27, 2010, 02:04:18 pm
Hi Chaps,

Did a tough 3 hour plus climbing session last friday week and since then I seem to have lost all my grip strength. I felt OK at the time but my fingers were sore for a week after, right down to the bones.

Should I keep resting or get back in the saddle?

I'm a relative novice to climbing and this was the toughest session I've done to date. I'm a bit concerned I may have fucked myself up for the foresable future. There's no pain or selling in my fingers or forearrms BTW, just a lack of grip strength.

Cheers.