UKBouldering.com

advice for a newbie (Read 5226 times)

al123

• menacing presence
advice for a newbie
March 08, 2010, 05:15:29 pm
hi all i am pretty new to bouldering and would like some advice on kit to buy and maybe guidebooks to buy and can anyone give me some good but easy routes in the peak district are that are graded please
cheers

meatball

• menacing presence
    • Chuck Norris facts
#1 Re: advice for a newbie
March 08, 2010, 05:25:35 pm
Shoes, bouldering pad and chalk bag will get you started.
Guide book wise i'd get Peak District Bouldering (assuming your based in the Peak?)

al123

• menacing presence
#2 Re: advice for a newbie
March 08, 2010, 05:37:56 pm
cheers yeah i am based in the peak district.
can anyone recomend me some bargain climbing shoes please maybe under £50 if thats possible

Andy B

• forum hero
  • fishie in a dishie
#3 Re: advice for a newbie
March 08, 2010, 06:07:14 pm
The cheapest new boots you will get are the dark blue own brand value Decathlon boots. at around £20-30.

al123

• menacing presence
#4 Re: advice for a newbie
March 08, 2010, 06:19:34 pm
bargain!!!! ;D ;D they sound brillant as i am still young i will grown out of shoes quickly so durability isnt a issue cheers for that!!

badong

#5 Re: advice for a newbie
March 08, 2010, 07:12:56 pm
Go outdoors are pretty good for shoes too.

http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/rock-pillars-rock-pillars-mongoose-3-to-8-p104426

Theres an excert of the peak bouldering guid here to get you started.

http://www.peakdistrictonline.co.uk/content.php?categoryId=2075

Andy B

• forum hero
  • fishie in a dishie
#6 Re: advice for a newbie
March 08, 2010, 07:22:36 pm
Decathlon Blues seem to be on sale too:

http://www.decathlon.co.uk/EN/vuarde-vulca-3232896/

You could probably get more than a tenner for them on ebay!

tomtom

• forum hero
#7 Re: advice for a newbie
March 08, 2010, 08:04:26 pm
Decathlon Blues seem to be on sale too:

http://www.decathlon.co.uk/EN/vuarde-vulca-3232896/