UKBouldering.com

Electric battery screwdriver/drill/impact driver? (Read 19760 times)

Jim

• Trusted Users
  • forum hero
  • Mostly Injured
  • Pregnant Horse
    • Bouldering POI's for tomtom
I'm looking to treat myself to a new electric screwdriver type thing to replace my old falling to bits battery drills.
I've never used an impact driver before, are these overkill for everyday use and only to be used for heavy duty screwing?
Would it be good enough using a specific battery screwdriver or is using a small drill better (more torque etc...)
Any recomendation? screwfix have a lot of good deals on at the moment, I'm looking to get one with a lithium battery, budget up to £100

Cheers

lagerstarfish

• forum hero
  • Weapon Of Mass
  • "There's no cure for being a c#nt"
I prefer a small battery drill/driver with a decent adjustable clutch, easy to operate reverse switch and variable speed trigger is what I prefer. The whole thing should balance nicely - the weight of the battery helps keep the thing stable. Never got on with those tube shaped electric screwdrivers. Make sure you get one with a spare battery.
Always liked the feel of the small Makitas, like this
http://www.screwfix.com/prods/52265/Power-Tools/Cordless-Drills/Makita-6261DWPE-9-6V-Cordless-Drill-Driver

Nice balance and rubbery grip

Jim

• Trusted Users
  • forum hero
  • Mostly Injured
  • Pregnant Horse
Thats what I've always used, for a few more £££ than the makita I can get a slightly more powerfull drill and impact driver with litium batteries
http://www.screwfix.com/prods/96657/Power-Tools/Kits/Bosch-0615990A96-10-8V-Drill-Impact-Driver

Somebody's Fool

• forum hero
What's wrong with the big hammer/little nail system you've been using up until now?

Jim

• Trusted Users
  • forum hero
  • Mostly Injured
  • Pregnant Horse
more successfully than your system it might be said

clm

• forum hero
What's wrong with the big hammer/little nail system you've been using up until now?