UKBouldering.com

Microsoft really are the spawn of satan.... (Read 36975 times)

slackline

• forum hero
    • Sheffield Boulder
I've a friend who whenever we catch up regales long arduous stories about how much time he's spent cleaning his OS and others who use M$-Winblows of viruses/spyware/adware/etc. it just sounds like an absolute fucking nightmare, even re-installing every six months can be a bit of a ball ache, especially when you've paid hard earned readies for something that should purportedly "just work".

I'm not having a dig. I get this whole rebellion against microsoft thing, I really do, I'm a certified Novell engineer and M$ single-handedly destroyed the job market for me, but blaming microsoft for their dominant position in the OS market is a bit unfair. They arrived on the scene with some great products before anyone else had even thought about home computing.

Hmm, well I refer you to the add campaign that Apple ran when Windows95 came out.  Windows95 they're "new" desktop was basically copying Apples from 1985!!!

I know they dropped the ball with Vista, but in general they've got a pretty good track record and it's not as if the viruses and malware that infest the web are Microsoft's fault is it?

I'd disagree, it really is their fault.  They pissed off a lot of smart hackers with the Win-tel market dominance and forcing restrictive license on people.  Further they released software riddled with security holes and features that were easily exploited.  Eg. Outlook exploits that meant when an infected email was opened it sent itself to every address in the address book.