UKBouldering.com

Spirit or Blade (Read 9070 times)

Martin JWS

Spirit or Blade
May 18, 2009, 08:26:48 pm
OK then, I am new to the whole climbing scene, get hooked about 6 weeks ago, so now I am taking the plunge and getting my own gear.
So far I have narrowed down the choices of shoe to either the Red Chili Spirit VCR or the Boreal Blade.
I have only been indoor and mainly bouldering with a bit of top rope-ing.

Could anyone offer any advice regarding either pair of shoes, I know it is all down to personal preference and all that, but some other opinions are always welcome :)

nodder

• obsessive maniac
#1 Re: Spirit or Blade
May 18, 2009, 08:58:28 pm
Defiantly the Blade it will stretch out a bit and then be awesome.

tobym

• menacing presence
#2 Re: Spirit or Blade
May 18, 2009, 09:30:56 pm

Nodder, aren't they canvas-lined? have yours stretched much?
would you buy them if you weren't sponsored by Boreal?

slackline

• forum hero
    • Sheffield Boulder
#3 Re: Spirit or Blade
May 18, 2009, 11:20:16 pm

:lol:

milksnake

• menacing presence
#4 Re: Spirit or Blade
May 19, 2009, 03:16:31 am
well, i've had a pair of boreal falcons for a little while now, which are basically a more flexible version of the blade. They are an awesome pair of shoes so I would recomend the blades over the spirits any day. a friend of mine has a pair of spirits and has no end of trouble standing on small edges in them, though this probally has more to do with the shape of his foot than the shoe itself. go for the one thats fits best or if you cant tell the difference, go for the blades.

lagerstarfish

• forum hero
  • Weapon Of Mass
  • "There's no cure for being a c#nt"
#5 Re: Spirit or Blade
May 19, 2009, 08:28:18 am
I've had a pair of Spirits for a couple of years.