UKBouldering.com

Recovery between sessions (Read 2370 times)

marty

• menacing presence
Recovery between sessions
March 14, 2009, 08:40:48 pm
Here's one for the collective knowledge of UKB. Looking to make some decent gains in 2009, and I am up'ing the frequency of my training. The issue is that it is taking me two days to recover between sessions.

I have always worked on the quality principle, and would not train if I have not fully recovered.

Previous:
Climb / Train Wed; Sore Thurs / Fri; Climb / Train Sat; Recover Sun / Mon;   - two sessions a week.

Planned / now;
Climb Wed; Weights & finger board Thurs; Fri Rest; Climb Sat; Sun Rest; Weights/ Finger board Mon; Tues Rest - 4 sessions a week
(Going back a few years, I was on this sort of frequency, before age / life caught up with me - I have been farting around for the last 3-4 years)

Will the recovery between sessions start to shorten as the body adapts?

Any top tips for shortening recovery between sessions? I eat pretty healthily, and will take the odd protein shake post session for recovery.

abarro81

• forum hero
#1 Re: Recovery between sessions
March 14, 2009, 08:53:15 pm
My recovery seems to be better recently which I'm currently putting down to 3 things (with no science whatsoever to back up my assertions):
- Body adapting to the fact I've increased the load recently
- Running 3 x 20 min each week
- ARCing at the end of every session as a warm down

I feel like I can definitely do a good power-endurance/stamina session if arms feel ok but not totally fresh.

clgladiator

• menacing presence
  • a deceptively
    • Climbing Photography
#2 Re: Recovery between sessions
March 14, 2009, 08:55:03 pm