UKBouldering.com

motivational issues (Read 12545 times)

groovy_nut

motivational issues
July 29, 2008, 04:45:46 pm
OK this is my first time posting here so please don't be too tough on me - I would have posted this over on UKC but quite frankly don't think I can really be bothered with all the nonsense over there at the minute, plus you guys all seem really helpful when you want to be.

Right my problem is that I really want to climb. I do, honestly I really do. I also want to improve as I really enjoy pushing myself, but herein lies the problem - I like to push myself but have been finding it increasingly hard to do so. I'm finding that while I really want to climb whilst I'm sat here at work or at home, when I actually get to the crag I keep coming up with excuses not to rack up.

I'm not sure if my issues are to do with fear of falling (for instance I'm completely useless at sport climbing because I'm terrified of falling. Trad isn't so bad because I have less opportunity to think about it), fear of failure (what if I can't do it?!), the need for encouragement (I tend to get on much better with my more positive climbing partners who are mostly disappearing, sadly), or something else?

I live in the London area and as such don't get out on rock anywhere near as much as I would like, but when I do get the opportunity I seem to waste it sometimes and this depresses me. Take this weekend for a start - I was working in Glasgow on Saturday so travelled up on Friday and back yesterday - gave myself a couple of days to play with. My partner also came with me along with rack and rope etc. We visited 3 crags and all I did was solo a few VDiffs in trainers - I kept making excuses not to climb (OK so the injury excuses were reasonable as I am in recovery, but even so!).