UKBouldering.com

Grow your own - the good life! (Read 35840 times)

uptown

• junky
Grow your own - the good life!
July 24, 2008, 05:04:21 pm
To follow on from the food thread.
Ok, so there are loads of good reasons to grow your own fruit and veggies - they taste better, they're cheap, you cut down on food miles etc. This is my first year trying, and having knocked up some raised beds from scaffolding boards and planted some seed, I'm beginning to see the rewards: todays spud harvest.

Do any other ukb'ers tend the land? Post advice, pictures and stuff here - Earth is the new Brown...

slackline

• forum hero
    • Sheffield Boulder
#1 Re: Grow your own - the good life!
July 24, 2008, 05:10:35 pm
That looks like a nice crop of tatty's you got there.

I've been getting loads of courgettes this year.  Beans are doing okay, not great, but enough for a meal once or twice a week.  All my onion seedlings disappeared over two nights, and only one of my sweetcorn plants has grown more than 60cm (but I didn't plant them in a square which is recommended so that they cross-polinate).  Pick a bit of lettuce here and there too, and the strawberries are coming through okay (although I need to weed the bed).  Got some brussel sprouts that are looking very healthy so should have some nice winter veg come October too.

Eagerly awaiting fruit from a Scotch Bonnet and a Habanero plant that are both very healthy with >30 flower/flower buds on to start doing their thing.

An older thread on the same topic from last year Is Gardening the new Climbing?.

Dolly

• forum hero
#2 Re: Grow your own - the good life!
July 24, 2008, 05:35:29 pm
Good effort on first attempt at pots. How is the flavour compared to shop bought ? I always think that the difference is really noticeable - more so than with other veg for some reason

Broad beans are good at the moment. Succulent and very juicy, but not a massive crop