UKBouldering.com

Quasi-periodized bouldering training (Read 18776 times)

michal

Quasi-periodized bouldering training
May 05, 2011, 09:22:46 pm
I'm interested in doing some more planned/structured training for bouldering.  My goal for 2011 is to climb some 7c+ boulders in Bishop and Yosemite.  The problems vary from gently overhanging to maybe 40 degrees overhanging and primarily feature edges/crimps, though there are a few openhanded slopers. 

The year started with a pulley injury that has now healed and left all of my potential sending for the fall season (too hot in the late spring/summer) - so I've got plenty of time to get better.

I've been climbing for 14 years, have good technique/footwork on granite and have done many 7b+ problems and a few at the 7c grade outdoors.  At this point I consider my weaknesses to be: flexibility, back/shoulder girdle strength, core strength, one-arm strength and power endurance.  I can campus 1-4-7 fairly easily yet cannot hang for even a few seconds one-armed on a large edge.  I tend to perform much better on gently overhanging climbs than on steep walls.  I'm 181cm tall and weigh 75kg...pretty lean so there is not much possibility of gaining a grade by losing weight.

My "training", such as it is, involves climbing 3-4 days a week, with one of those days followed by a weight lifting session for chest/triceps to balance my shoulders and arms out.  I have access to several gyms with good bouldering walls, a campus board and have a Beastmaker at home.  I currently do some hangboard work, but it's fairly unstructured and sporadic.

I'm wondering if it's worthwhile to have a more structured training plan and am at a bit of a loss as to how to construct one since the commonly seen plans seem to cater to training for sport climbing.  Any thoughts/suggestions are much appreciated....

Paul B

• forum hero

account_inactive

• forum hero