UKBouldering.com

Bouldering progress - am I expecting too much? (Read 6560 times)

Durbs

• forum hero
Hey all - been reading the threads here for a while, but this is my first post.

I've been climbing for a few years now (5 on-and-off), and recently have started getting more into bouldering.

Anyway - I don't think i have terrible technique, and my strength isn't too bad, i've even had a lesson with Mark Croxall which definitely helped, however I'm still stuck struggling around the V3's and V4's.

I try to go at least once a week, usually 2 (I climb at Craggy Island) but I'm still really struggling on their "easy" routes (They don't really grade the routes there, just Easy/Medium/Hard).

I've recently got a fingerboard which has massively improved my finger strength - but I'm starting to get a little disheartended with my lack of progress.

Am I expecting too much to be wanting to getting into V5s and above already?

Climbing I'm hovering around 6a/b - but does this have any relation to bouldering abilty?
What's likely to be my limiting factor - strength/technique?

dave

I would say don't get hung up on indoor grades, they aer meaningless at best, and a lot of indoor routes setters seem to grade harshley to try and look like a bigshot! chances are you're already climbing some stuff thats a decent standard.

other tips would be try and climb maybe more in a week (i.e. 2-3 sessions rather than 1-2), try and climb with people who are a little bit better than you are - pick up the technique and helps motivate/push yourself. also if you can get to a different wall/crag rather than just the same one all the time you'll diversify your skills and not risk only getting good at the particular type of thing/holds your local setters set. also try and look at what yourweekness might be, maybe you're not slapping enough, maybe its power, maybe footwork, maybe its just tenacity or execution  - climbing with others should help identify this.

but most of all enjoy it.

Durbs