UKBouldering.com

Quality computer recommendations !! (Read 6352 times)

jed

• player
  • Are you Experienced?
Quality computer recommendations !!
May 01, 2008, 02:47:13 pm
I am not an expert on computer matters and need some advice.
I am looking to invest in a laptop for work which matches this specification

http://www.compusoftgroup.com/content/products/winner/system.aspx

Before now we have used DELL (the devil).

I am wondering weather I could get better value for money else were

Please Help im a twato !!!
« Last Edit: May 02, 2008, 10:57:47 am by Bubba, Reason: no caps please »

slackline

• forum hero
    • Sheffield Boulder
I am not an expert on computer matters and need some advice.
I am looking to invest in a laptop for work which matches this specification

http://www.compusoftgroup.com/content/products/winner/system.aspx

Before now we have used DELL (the devil).

I am wondering weather I could get better value for money else were

Please Help im a twato !!!

First things first, what do you want to do with the computer?  What does your "work" consist of? (I'm a twat and have now actually read, rather than just looking at the link you gave, so its basically CAD of sorts non?)

Right down what you do now, and what you may want to do in the future (or non-work stuff).  Will you want to do lots of photo editing?  video editing?  email/web-browsing? programming? databases? web-development?

This will determine what spec computer to buy.  Theres generally little need or point in staying bleeding edge, since Moore's law is still holding the depreciation of your equipment drops of rapidly.

Multiple core processors are good as it means different process' can use different cores to do things, but they don't solve everything (not all copmutational problems are conducive to parallel processing).  On the flip side this is going to drain your battery power quicker.