UKBouldering.com

I'm a newbie (Read 2310 times)

punched

I'm a newbie
June 27, 2007, 05:43:50 pm
Hello Everyone :wave:

I've decided that bouldering is for me and I'm looking for a bit of start up advice.

A bit about me - I did a little climbing when I was at college (20 years ago) and I enjoyed it and I'm wanting to get back into it. I can't be bothered with all the ropes etc that climbing involves so bouldering really appeals to me. I live close to the Peak district and have had a wander round the Burbage area watching and looking at some of the problems.

So a couple of questions

Shoes? which kind and where's a good shop in the Barnsley/Sheffield area. Thing is I don't do leather so they need to be man made fabrics only.

Mat - they all look the same to me, lol so which kind would suit? I'm a big second row forward type so I need something that will stand up to my 18stone frame hitting it.

Owt else I need?

Oh the Mrs wants to come and the same restriction on the type of shoes for her would apply.

Anyway sorry to ask questions that you've probably already answered a 1000 times.

dontfollowme

• Trusted Users
  • junky
#1 Re: I'm a newbie
June 27, 2007, 06:16:48 pm
If you are just getting back into I would aim for some cheap shoes that fit well. You might trash nice shoes if your footwork is a bit rusty. I would go some slippers or velcro shoes which will mean you can take them off between attemps on problems.

Good brands of pad are Pob, Moon and Franklin. They all sell a variety of sizes. I can't help with shops as I don't live nearby. I am confident there are some good ones around that area though.

Nibile

• forum hero
  • Part Animal Part Machine
    • TOTOLORE
#2 Re: I'm a newbie
June 27, 2007, 11:22:37 pm