UKBouldering.com

Begining Bouldering (Read 2126 times)

TheKrikkitWars

Begining Bouldering
June 16, 2007, 05:08:16 pm
I recently came across bouldering and began to wonder how or where to start; one Google search later.

The crux is I have very little climbing experience, can anyone suggest how I should begin, would I be better going out and getting some climbing experience and skills before moving from conventional climbing towards doing simple problems?

All input greatly appreciated.

Krank

• junky
  • VIVA LA CHAPEL
  • Its meant to be hard
#1 Re: Begining Bouldering
June 16, 2007, 10:14:04 pm
No mate, get some shoes and a mat and a guide book and go and do as many problems as you can before theres no skin on your finger tips, go home . Now get up and go and do it again. Now your a boulderer, sorted.
 where do you live, whats your nearest rock

TheKrikkitWars

#2 Re: Begining Bouldering
June 16, 2007, 10:18:12 pm
I live in Doncaster, south Yorkshire. Can anyone recommend a good guidebook then?

chappers

• forum hero
#3 Re: Begining Bouldering
June 16, 2007, 10:50:19 pm
try peak district bouldering by ukbouldering's very own ru davies.

http://www.outside.co.uk/cgi-bin/psProdDet.cgi/5185||~@c~Peak~District~@b|0|user|1,0,0,1|15|

go to it. try a trip to a wall.

erm, sam

• forum hero
#4 Re: Begining Bouldering
June 17, 2007, 12:03:09 pm
I think it can be better to get into climbing a bit with ropes, with a mate or at a course at a wall etc before bouldering as it can be quite intimidating learning to climb when even a 4ft fall could break an ankle if not done properly.. Also it can be a bit hard to work out what is "climbable" if you haven't some experience, so visiting a bouldering field can be a bit frustrating. And I think that most of the problems -99%? in the Peak bouldering guide would be very difficult for somebody brand new to climbing..