UKBouldering.com

Absolute beginner questions. (Read 2956 times)

heidavey

Absolute beginner questions.
November 16, 2005, 11:46:53 am
I recently did the Challenge 8000 sponsered climb for water aid at Leeds Wall (http://www.wateraidchallenge8000.org if you don't know what that is) and it served as a better-than-most 'give it a go' session.  I really got bitten by the climbing bug.

So, I am going to go on a beginners course at Leeds Wall.

I have also really become interested in bouldering.  It looks to me like the most mentally and physically taxing climbing activity and the one I would like to dedicate the most time to.

I am also in the lucky position of living just up the road from Almscliffe!

My questions:

Equipment:
The way I see it, I need shoes, bouldering mat, chalk and bag.  

As a beginner, it probably isn't worth spending a great deal on shoes to start with - any tips as to what brand is good and how much I should spend on a first pair.  Or do I not need rock shoes straight away?

I don't really think I need a mat as a beginner because the challenges I will be doing probably don't require one.

Chalk and bag are not that expensive so I might get them anyway.  Any tips as to good chalk?

Almscliffe:
What are the best problems at Almscliffe for an absolute beginner?  Am I going to go out and completely suck at a V0-?

Also I think Caley is just round the corner - any beginner problems there?

Training:
I understand that the best training for climbing is climbing, but what kind of training should i do?  General cardiovascular, sit-ups, pull-ups, push-ups I guess?

I think thats all.  Cheers in advance.

erm, sam

• forum hero
#1 Absolute beginner questions.
November 16, 2005, 12:03:13 pm
Hi. Bouldering is good of course, but don't be too set on only doing that. If you get the opportunity to do some roped climbing then definatly give it a go as well.