the shizzle > shootin' the shit

Pensions, Savings, Mortgages…

(1/7) > >>

James Malloch:
I need to get my act together a bit with finances and having read the variety of detailed responses about pensions in the Politics thread, here seems a good a place as any to ask.

I’m currently in the decent position of having a well paid contract job which I’ve been doing for the last 3 years. For the first few years I saved a lot, bought a van and went on a long trip. Now I’m back I’m in another contract which lets me save a decent amount again.

We’re keeping an eye out on the housing market as we would like to move, and our savings are in a good position for what we need (basically to be able to move house quickly using them for a second deposit, or have enough cash to throw into the right house if it needs a lot of renovations doing).

At the moment my plan has always been to keep saving and be able to pay off the mortgage earlier, or if we find the right house then chuck it into that to lower the LTV, reduce interest rate, monthly payment commitments etc. It’s like this as I’ve always been quite averse to debt, especially when you start to think of what you pay in interest over the years.

But after a few years off paying into a pension I’m looking to get something set up for the new tax year. I’m in the higher (40%) tax bracket and have been thinking about what to contribute and it’s got me thinking about the mortgage.

Say I could put £20k into a pension / year. That’s the equivalent of £12k of savings after tax.

I’m 31 so over the next 30 years the pension might get to £36.5k (assuming 2% average growth), £66k (assuming 4% average growth) or even £162k (assuming 7% return which one website suggested was the average growth in the last 40 years). It could also go go down but I’d hope not over that timescale!