UKBouldering.com

Photo editing tips from the pros and wannabes. (Read 1236 times)

Fultonius

• forum hero
  • Was strong but crap, now weaker but better.
    • Photos
As per the bouldering pics threads, I was hoping to learn some tips and tricks about better tweaks and edits that could be done to create nice but not "overdone" photos. I use an Olympus EM5MkIII and usually the 12-100 F4 lens, DXO Photolab 4 and Fastraw viewer. My photography is mainly about creating nice memory photos of trips etc. but with the best composition I can muster. I'm an engineer by trade, and lacking artistic talent. Good understanding of all the general photography and editing concepts, just not so good at using them to maximise the end result.

Here are a few photos from our recent Costa Blanca Trip: 

https://photos.app.goo.gl/r93DLJHWt64uZdYC6

My two favourites are:

El Tupe de Roca 6c+, Garx

And:

Viaje a la Locura 7b+, Cabeconet

I had a crude bash at removing the container from the ground on this one:

If anyone's interested, I'll create a one-drive folder for RAW files and you can head off and make your own edit and compare notes?  Also, any general pointers on the original photos are also welcome.

User deactivated.

• forum hero
These don't look overdone to me except for possibly the last one where the colour grade is a bit obvious and the sky is too blue. They are slightly more saturated than I would have chosen but that is personal taste and it's not excessive. The angles and positions of the climbers are good and the colours of the landscape are nice too. The Photoshop job on the crate is fine too, you generally don't need to be too perfect with things like this as no one will be studying that part of the image.

My hopefully constructive critique would be: