UKBouldering.com

Flaws in existing outdoor products/Products you wish existed (Read 4529 times)

Finn1999

Hey guys, I’m currently studying product design at uni. I’m doing a project at the moment focusing on outdoor gear (climbing, hiking, skiing etc).

Im trying to improve/develop upon existing products or create a completely new product.

I’m asking peoples opinions at the moment for my research so:

What things do you find really annoying about the gear you use and are there any new pieces of gear you think would be useful?

If you have any ideas/suggestions reply in thread or fill in the google form here:

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSczcm0l2BG7Mzg186rVi5T-NOEZF2FwFxq9Mlo_Sxd9ecLWFg/viewform?usp=sf_link

Thanks a lot!

duncan

• Global Moderator
  • forum hero
I think there is more to come from bouldering mats that use a deflating aircell structure to absorb force. They should - in theory - be bigger, lighter and longer-lasting than current foam sandwich designs.

Bradders

• forum hero
Have a look at the various threads about pad recommendations on here, sure there'll be lots of product flaws highlighted.

Oldmanmatt

• forum hero
  • At this rate, I probably won’t last the week.
  • Largely broken. Obsolete spares and scrap only.
    • The Boulder Bunker climbing centre
I once pinched the folding, wired, hood from my kid’s baby carrier and cable tied it to my Bergan for a particularly damp trek and wondered why this wasn’t a “thing”.

Then the wind got up.

Still, always meant to revisit the basic idea.

SA Chris

• forum hero
    • http://groups.msn.com/ChrisClix

Duma

• forum hero
Knee pads and crack gloves made just of leather, ie no rubber. To provide scrape/bruise/pain protection but retain friction quality equivalent to skin.

SA Chris

• forum hero
available in any S&M shop :)

Dac

• player